Building realistic graphics

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
12 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Building realistic graphics

Mike
I am just getting started with JOGL.  I started doing some Java 3D programming about a year ago, but then had to stop the projects I was working on.  Now that I'm picking up 3D programming again I thought I'd use JOGL.

When I was working with Java 3D I was only working with very basic 3D shapes to start with.  For even these shapes defining the geometry was very tedious and error prone.  I will do the same thing with JOGL, that is start out with basic shapes and define the geometry manually but I was wondering if there are any tools that help you to create more realistic, lifelike looking graphics.

I'll be attempting to do geologic simulation graphics and would like the animations to look as "lifelike" as possible; i.e. real rock textures, etc.  If defining basic shapes is tedious and error prone, certainly defining terraine and lifelike rock tectures will also be error prone.  Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I may be generating a great deal of data from mathematical models of geologic processes and then wanting to use that data to simulate the process graphically.  Any suggestins on this?

I know both of these questions are very advanced for the part of the learning curve I'm currently on with JOGL, but I'm looking ahead to the real exciting stuff!!!

Thanks,
Mike
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Building realistic graphics

gouessej
Administrator
You can find some nice rock textures on Internet, even on opengameart.org.

I worked in a subsidiary of the French institute of the petroleum, maybe I can help you a bit. It's weird for me as in general we don't try to use textures on mathematically generated models even though it isn't impossible.