Issues with JOGL under OS X

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
19 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Issues with JOGL under OS X

agggile
Hey. Thought I'd post this here because I can't put my mind around this issue. So, I'm in the midst of reconstructing some extremely old code, and I decided to update JOGL. I'm not even sure what sort of JOGL build the old code was using. Anyway, I successfully updated the libs to a more recent build. The code works with every Windows build I've come across, but for some reason it won't function under OS X. Here's a log with debug-all:

http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=jsa3cAtG

After that, it's just "NSOpenGLLayer.Attach: Re-Queue, drawableHandle 0x7f7fbb02f9a0 - AWT-AppKit" for an additional 3 billion lines, after which I dispose of everything and return to the original screen. I'm extremely new to OpenGL and JOGL, but I assume there's some sort of information hidden in that log. I will provide code from the project when necessary.

Thanks in advance!
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Issues with JOGL under OS X

gouessej
Administrator
Hi

Please stop using the obsolete Apple JVM. I can find a clear statement of Apple itself about the fact it's deprecated. Run your application with OpenJDK or Oracle Java and it will work.
Julien Gouesse | Personal blog | Website
Reply | Threaded
|

agggile
Hey, thanks for replying. Running Oracle's product now and the output is similar; it didn't work. I haven't tried OpenJDK yet.

http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=nPjtDfdx
Reply | Threaded
|

gouessej
Administrator
Do you reproduce your bug when not using any applet?
Reply | Threaded
|

agggile
I can't see why it wouldn't, unless the JOGL-related code in the Applet class has something to do with the issue.

I have:

GLCapabilities capabilities = new GLCapabilities(GLProfile.getDefault());
capabilities.setSampleBuffers(true);
capabilities.setNumSamples(2);
Global.mainGLCanvas = new MainGLCanvas(this, capabilities);