4 messages Options
LFK
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

JOGL being taught horribly wrong in a university

LFK
Hello folks,
I'm a student from a university (I prefer to keep the name hidden for private reasons), I'm currently a 3rd stage student studying Computer Graphics & Vision (JOGL) as one of my primary lectures.
However the overall teaching of JOGL is totally wrong, as the teacher (who is supposed to have a MSc. degree) is destroying us with probably the oldest and buggiest version of JOGL (v2.0) and even without using an IDE (Using Textpad), so I'm really desperate with my college and university as well as it has been going so for about 10 years now without any change ! not even a simple change, as a college student I can't really stand still and not do anything about this as this is one of the most important and fun area in programming (at least to me), so I'm here seeking for help and where would I be able to do ANYTHING about this, is it even possible to do anything to force them to teach the most recent version of JOGL and actually use IDE's  as it is supposed to be?

and I would really appreciate a word from the officials of JOGL on this as I'm planning to start a campaign on this in my university because this is not the only lecture we are getting ruined by.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: JOGL being taught horribly wrong in a university

ElvJOGL
The best advice I could give you is to just seat in the class and just chill out. If you don't like the way the professor is teaching it, then you could discuss it with Academic Advisement. But then again, I don't know with your university has such a department. I know mine school has an Academic Advisement department, where students can bring up academic issues for appeal.