JOGL broken with JRE>8 and Windows window-scaling

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
20 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

JOGL broken with JRE>8 and Windows window-scaling

nyxcode
I'm just learning OpenGL using JOGL and, after dozens of hours of debugging, I think I found a bug..
When using the window scaling feature of windows (usefull for small high-resolution screens, laptops, ..) and Java 9 or 10 (Java 8 works fine though) the AWT Frame scales (when using 125% scaling a 500x500 Frame will be 625x625) but the GLCanvas doesnt.

Java 8, everything works as expected: https://prnt.sc/kjf9fp
Java 10, the window is 25% larger and has a nasty black border at the right and the top: https://prnt.sc/kjf9zq

Is this a known bug? Does anyone know of a workaround?
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: JOGL broken with JRE>8 and Windows window-scaling

nyxcode
If it was possible to get the scaling factor (or the "true" size of the window), I could do something like
glViewport(0, 0, width * scalingFactor, height * scalingFactor)

Reply | Threaded
|

gouessej
Administrator
In reply to this post by nyxcode
Hello

You can simply disable the HiDPI support by setting the system property "sun.java2d.dpiaware" to false (or use "-Dsun.java2d.dpiaware=false" as a VM argument).
Julien Gouesse | Personal blog | Website
Reply | Threaded
|

nyxcode
Thanks for your response!

I tried your suggestion with HotSpot build 10.0.2+13 and OpenJDK Zulu build 9.0.7.1+1 - both without success.
Am I missing something? I have read multiple times that this system property did not work on 1.8 - which is confusing since I didn't have any problems with 1.8.
Reply | Threaded
|

gouessej
Administrator
You have to set it very early to give it a chance to work, it's mentioned in the source code in sun.java2d.windows.WindowsFlags. How did you try it?

Edit.: The flag still exists in the source code and works with Java 1.10.
Reply | Threaded
|

nyxcode