Java3D for large scale CAD

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Java3D for large scale CAD

steve skrabacz
I've been maintaining a Java3D-based viz tool for over 10 years, used for PLM work (think:  1 million piece parts of CAD, mostly read only).  Over the years the program has been fed by CATIA, STEP, and NX, using the simplest shot possible into an IndexedTriangleStripArray, and often employing com.sun.j3d.utils.geometry.compression.CompressionStream.

We now face a new round of development.  We want to measure & improve initial load time as well as graphics performance (frames per second on rotate / pan / zoom; mouseovers; picking) for a session with 1K, 10K, and 100K parts at a time.  The goal is to scale up to a session that can comfortably display 100K parts at a time (today 100K is sluggish; 10K is very doable).

We're an NVIDIA shop, and have dabbled with CUDA as a means of managing Octrees (as part of some loosely coupled AR work).  But for my Java3D work I've always treated Java3D & the graphics card as black boxes, until now....

So here are a few questions (and BTW I was glad to find this forum, which shows that there's still a heartbeat out there for Java3D...thank you for all your work...360K lines is nothing to sneeze at, and I know how challenging it can be to keep many customers happy...):

1.  The latest jogamp forum entry I found for Java3D source (April 2015) mentions Java3D 1.6.0-pre12, which requires jogl 2.3.1.  Since I'm interested in instrumenting the performance of Java3D, how might I get the source for pre12 (and did 12 ever happen)?  The latest source posted to jogamp is pre10.