6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

MulJogamp Timings

gmseed
This post was updated on .
Hi

On the Tutorial page is a link to a paper that compares jogamp-jocl, jocl and javacl:

http://jogamp.org/wiki/index.php/JOCL_Tutorial

When comparing against "normal" Java the author includes the filling of the arrays in the cpu timings. I took the time to implement this test case [as I'm new to jocl] and fatcored out the array filling and computation:

private void fillJavaArrays(float[] matA, float[] matB, int seedA, int seedB)
        {
                Random randA = new Random(seedA);
                Random randB = new Random(seedB);
                final int n = matA.length;
                for (int i=0; i<n; i++)
                {
                        matA[i] = randA.nextFloat();
                        matB[i] = randB.nextFloat();
                }
        }

public void normalMatMulCalc(float[] matA, float[] matB, float[] C)
        {
                final int n = matA.length;
                for (int i=0; i<n; i++)
                {
                        C[i] = matA[i] * matB[i];
                }
        }

and now compare apples with apples:

// normal Java calculation
                float[] matA = new float[n];
                float[] matB = new float[n];
                float[] C = new float[n];
                fillJavaArrays(matA,matB,seedA,seedB);

time = nanoTime();
                normalMatMulCalc(matA,matB,C);
                time = nanoTime() - time;

From the pdf I'm a bit confused as to whether the size of n is 1444777 or 14447777, but using the bigger 14447777 then my timing results are:

created: CLContext [id: 375806496, platform: NVIDIA CUDA, profile: FULL_PROFILE, devices: 1]
using CLDevice [id: 375806416 name: Quadro K1000M type: GPU profile: FULL_PROFILE]
local: 256
global: 14447872
used device memory: 173MB
A*B=C results snapshot: