Ubuntu/Linux misc. problems: jogl, j3d, netbeans...

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
11 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Ubuntu/Linux misc. problems: jogl, j3d, netbeans...

LordSmoke
This post was updated on .
I have been developing JOGL, J3D apps for several years that seem to run fine on OS X and Windows, but I recently learned of problems on Ubuntu/Linux.

I have tested five apps on two versions of Ubuntu (18.04.1, 18.10) and four versions of Java (Oracle 8, OpenJDK 8, OpenJDK 10.0.2, and OpenJDK 11). Ubuntu versions running in VirtualBox 6.0 on Mac OS 10.14.2.

Non-graphics (non-JOGL/J3D) programs work fine. The only graphics programs that work are one version from July 2014 that will run on Oracle Java 8 on Ubuntu 18.10 and another compiled on FEB 2018 that will run on Ubuntu 18.10 on either Oracle Java 8 or OpenJDK 8. Some X11 shutdown errors, but both work.

Hoping to track down the problems one-by-one, I tried compiling on Ubuntu 18.04 using Netbeans 8.2 and Oracle Java 8 (the versions I used on the Mac) and JOGL 2.3.2 from OCT2015 and J3D from APR2015.

But, I get immediate errors. Probably a Netbeans setup issue and the JOGL 2.3.2 and J3D APR2015 libraries are found, but it says various packages do not exist and it cannot find things like...

import com.sun.j3d.utils.geometry.Sphere;
import com.jogamp.opengl.GLProfile;
import com.jogamp.common.nio.Buffers;
import com.jogamp.graph.curve.opengl.RegionRenderer;
import com.jogamp.graph.curve.opengl.RenderState;
import com.jogamp.graph.curve.opengl.TextRegionUtil;
import com.jogamp.graph.geom.SVertex;
import com.jogamp.opengl.DebugGL3;
import static com.jogamp.opengl.GL.GL_BLEND;
import static com.jogamp.opengl.GL.GL_FRONT_AND_BACK;
import static com.jogamp.opengl.GL.GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA;
import static com.jogamp.opengl.GL.GL_SRC_ALPHA;
import static com.jogamp.opengl.GL2GL3.GL_FILL;
import static com.jogamp.opengl.GL2GL3.GL_LINE;
import com.jogamp.opengl.GL3;