Using Jogl for offscreen image composing (no GUI)

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Using Jogl for offscreen image composing (no GUI)

tarto
Dear all

The idea is to have a remote server processing some commands text file, and composing an image based upon those instructions. I was thinking of using Jogl to render that image offline on a texture or a PBO, and then save the image when done with readPixels for later download.

I am new to Jogl but I understood at least that it is no possible to retrieve a GL object statically. I am thus trying to set a GLCanvas and access the GL object reference through the GLEventListener. At some point GLProfile.initSingleton is always called and throws the following Exception:

com.jogamp.nativewindow.NativeWindowException: X11Util.Display: Unable to create a display(nil) connection

My interpretation is that this is because my remote machine has no GUI (and wont have one). Is this is really the reason of this Exception ? If so, how to get rid of it and how to get a reference of a GL instance for pure offscreen rendering ?

Thank you for any help !
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Using Jogl for offscreen image composing (no GUI)

Sven Gothel
Administrator
On 07/29/2015 10:52 AM, tarto [via jogamp] wrote:
> Dear all
>
> The idea is to have a remote server processing some commands text file, and
> composing an image based upon those instructions. I was thinking of using Jogl
> to render that image offline on a texture or a PBO, and then save the image
> when done with readPixels for later download.

Use GLDrawableFactory -> createOffscree*() for FBO/Texture target.

>
> I am new to Jogl but I understood at least that it is no possible to retrieve
> a GL object statically. I am thus trying to set a GLCanvas and access the GL
> object reference through the GLEventListener. At some point