classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

get polygons at point x, z

Poehli
Hi everyone,
I'm new to j3d and am trying to programm a game, where I need to run on a uneven surface.
for that purpose I added every single polygon of the worldmap to an ArrayList<Polygon>, where Polygon is a self written class which contains some important methods.
But with this setup, it's not only way too slow, but also uses tons of memory. In fact, I get a OutOfMemoryException when I load an object with about 3million polygons, which is a nogo ;).
Now I'm looking for some alternative to get the polygon from x and z coodinates of an object I created in blender. I'm sure, that this polygon is in rendering region, but how to read this region?

Hope you guys can help me here :)

Poehli
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: get polygons at point x, z

jmaasing
I think you will be better off using a game engine like Ardor3D or jMonkeyEngine (http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org) that has a lot of game related things built in, for example collision detection, model loading and terrain handling.
Reply | Threaded
|

Poehli
Yes, but since I have no choice, but to use j3d, I will do so ;)
This is one requirement of my university for this project.
Reply | Threaded
|

gouessej
Administrator
Use smaller objects then.
Julien Gouesse | Personal blog | Website
Reply | Threaded
|

Poehli
This post was updated on .
This is not helpful at all...
There must be a way to do so, without changing the objects...

Could you explain, how the interleaved array is actually arranged? Maybe I can predict, where the point is from that array.
I only know that 6 indices build a point, with the last 3 indices as their normals. The polygon is made of three points, so one polygon takes 18 places in the array, in my case
But how are the polygons sorted?
Reply | Threaded
|

gouessej
Administrator