classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
10 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Digital signatures for native libraries

Lerzeel
Hi,

In our quest to have safer software, our release department asked me if the native DLL files (for JOGL 2.4.0) were available with digital signatures?
This would allow us to better verify the origin of these files.
Is this something that is already available, or could be added to the build pipeline?

In a second question they also asked about compiling with the GS compiler switch:
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/cpp/build/reference/gs-buffer-security-check?view=msvc-170
But I am no C expert, and am not sure if an equivalent exists for non-Windows or non-Visual Studio environments.
It would also impact performance a bit, but there are gains in the safer software department.

Any feedback on the above would be much appreciated,

Thanks
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Digital signatures for native libraries

Sven Gothel
Administrator
Hi Lerzeel,

I could offer contracting services to your company to discuss these issues and perhaps helping to resolve it.

A short answer .. digital signatures with a CA are not the solution for trust.
However, I do have signed the sha of the delivered releases.

~Sven
Reply | Threaded
|

gouessej
Administrator
In reply to this post by Lerzeel
Hello

As far as I know, they aren't. I might be wrong, Sven can confirm.

Digital signatures aren't a guarantee of security. Several years ago, a criminal stole a digital signature and used it to sign a malicious program containing a virus that used the same name than my game to confuse end users.

You can build JogAmp by yourself and sign it, you don't need us to provide libraries with signed signatures. Don't forget that code signing certificates aren't free of charge.