classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

JOGL version and latest MacOS with Java 8

MarcoNL
Hi all.
I am quite new to JOGL, so I beg your pardon in advance for the basic questions.

First of all, a bit of background: I am developing an application which uses the VTK library (Visualization ToolKit by Kitware) in order to make some 3D rendering and processing.

In turn, VTK is able to use JOGL as one of the ways to allow direct VTK-based 3D rendering from Java applications.

My application needs to work both on Windows and on MacOS. While on Windows eventually I also have other rendering options (VTK is able to render directly through the JAWT interface on this platform, in addition to through JOGL), at the moment using JOGL is the only available option in order to make my VTK-based Java application work on MacOS.

On Windows, I am currently using VTK 8.2.0 with the latest update of Java 8. On Windows, I have already done some tests with VTK 8.2.0 + JOGL v2.3.2, and everything is working quite fine, except for some smaller issues.

So, I am now approaching the "effort" of building VTK 8.2.0 with JOGL bindings on MacOS.

Now the questions come:

1) My plan would be to start from the latest JOGL v2.4.0 RC (according to my search, it should be this one: https://jogamp.org/deployment/archive/rc/v2.4.0-rc-20200307/). Will this work correctly with the latest update of Java 8 (we are using JetBrain's implementation of OpenJDK) on latest MacOS 10.15.x (Catalina)? Or will I be forced to use a higher Java version for best compatibility?

2) Is an official release of JOGL 2.4.0 planned anytime soon?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Regards,

Marco Sambin
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: JOGL version and latest MacOS with Java 8

gouessej
Administrator
Hello