Java 3D CAD program - volunteer opportunities

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
13 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Java 3D CAD program - volunteer opportunities

RickLutowski
Seeking volunteer(s) to assist with enhancing a Java CAD program I have been developing since 2017.

CM (Compartmentalized Model) Creator can model compartmented structures such as buildings, ships, space stations, and the like. Unlike AutoCAD-type software, which are parts modelers intended for use in full-scale production, CM Creator is a 'total platform' modeler intended for creating 3D-printed scale models (prototypes) rather than the real thing. When transparent materials are used for the 3D printing, the scale models produced would be at least partly transparent, potentially allowing the internal structure (compartments) to be visible in addition to the exterior as in all current scale models. The ability to create transparent scale models of subdivided structures could open new markets for 3D printing. (Note: 3D printers cannot print totally enclosed hollow objects, but CM Creator is designed to provide a way around this,)

While CM Creator currently can create 3D digital models of complex compartment structures, code to prepare the 3D models for input to 3D printer pre-processors still needs to be written.