classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New to JOGL / NEWT

iexus
Hi!

Sorry I am new to all of this never really used JOGL before but I've been looking through several examples of how to set up things typically but I have noticed that everyone mentions how NEWT is the faster way to do things.

However I really struggle to find anything about it and how it works / what it is / how you typically lay out things - like what does it even require? How does it render? What is a typical loop?

Does anyone have any fairly decent docs for it? OR a tutorial showing the ideal way to create a window and then set up a render loop for it and accept user input?

Hope I've not missed anything obvious that could help me but I see other people have had the same issue with the lack of available material.

Kind regards,

iexus.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New to JOGL / NEWT

Wade Walker
Administrator
I'm not sure if the docs or tutorial are ready yet... I guess Sven will have to answer that  However, you might look at the NEWT tests at https://github.com/sgothel/jogl/tree/master/src/test/com/jogamp/opengl/test/junit/newt to see if there's something similar to what you want to do.

Reply | Threaded
|

iexus
Thanks I will give those a peruse! I hadn't realised NEWT was on the bleeding edge of being made :D
Reply | Threaded
|

Demoscene Passivist
Administrator
For an example of how to get a NEWT window for rendering up and running with keylisteners attached u can take a look at my Github repository:

https://github.com/demoscenepassivist/SocialCoding/blob/master/code_demos_jogamp/src/framework/base/BaseGlobalEnvironment.java#L83

API wise NEWT isn't really different from using JOGL with AWT. Generally it's easy to migrate code from AWT/GLCanvas to NEWT. Just a few search'n'replace operations and ur good to go.