9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Dual GPU 7990 card not using both GPUs concurrently

devmonkey
Hi,

I'm very new to OpenCL and JOCL.

I'm using a dual gpu HD7990 on win7 64, Catalyst 14.12 and having some problems getting reliable execution across both gpus concurrently. If I run the JOCLMultiDeviceSample I can see it enqueue work to both gpus however the work fully executes on one gpu before the work on the second gpu commences.

Note that since the sample runs over all devices I can also see the CPU work occurring concurrently to the GPU work.

My own launcher and kernels behave the same way - If I schedule the same work to both gpus and use clWaitForEvents(...) to wait for both jobs to complete they execute serially taking 2x the time of one job. When I run a thread per device (with separate context) AND force the work on the first core to be scheduled before that on the second core then both jobs execute concurrently and both jobs complete in the same time as a single job on one gpu.

Any pointers as to whether this is an issue with the dual card / driver or a synchronisation problem in the JOCL wrapper?

Thanks, Joe
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Dual GPU 7990 card not using both GPUs concurrently

devmonkey
Actually it simply works concurrently if I separate the gpu work into separate threads (with independent contexts), it doesn't matter about whether gpu1 schedules before gpu2, but it always operates serially running both from the same thread waiting on multiple events.
Reply | Threaded
|

Wade Walker
Administrator
In reply to this post by devmonkey
Hi Joe,

Looking at the code for clWaitForEvents(), all it does is check the buffer arguments to make sure they're direct buffers, and then call the native OpenCL function, so there shouldn't be any waiting in the JOCL wrapper. Same goes for clEnqueueNDRangeKernel().