GLCapabilities setSampleBuffers(true) stops painting

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

GLCapabilities setSampleBuffers(true) stops painting

jeffreportmill
I am a JOGL newbie, still trying to figure out best practices to render basic 3D to (essentially) an offscreen BufferedImage. Still using immediate mode instead of shaders.

Things have been going well, but when I realized how pixelated my rendering was, I tried to activate Multisampling with setSampleBuffers(true) + setNumSamples(4). When I add these to my GLCapabilities, my painting freezes, even though the app is happily still running (display still gets called, and Swing paint still gets called, JOGL trace shows plenty of activity).

I have tried dozens of permutations of GLCapabilities and GLDrawable options, onscreen and off, but I still get the paint freeze. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

Source:  http://reportmill.com/jogl/JoglTest.java

Somehow I think I have a buffer issue - like maybe it's rendering to a swapped out buffer. I really don't know what I'm talking about though.

Thanks!

jeff
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: GLCapabilities setSampleBuffers(true) stops painting

jeffreportmill
I should have mentioned my config:

- MacOS Monterey 12.1, M1, JDK 1.8.0_241

- Gradle: org.jogamp.jogl:jogl-all-main:2.3.2

- Default Caps: GLCaps[rgba 8/8/8/0, opaque, accum-rgba 0/0/0/0, dp/st/ms 16/0/0, dbl, mono  , hw, GLProfile[GL2/GL2.hw], on-scr[.]]

- Config Caps: GLCaps[rgba 8/8/8/8, opaque, accum-rgba 0/0/0/0, dp/st/ms 16/0/4, sample-ext default, one, mono  , hw, GLProfile[GL2/GL2.hw], on-scr[.]]

Any ideas on things to try for debugging?
Reply | Threaded
|

jeffreportmill
So I got it to work by changing my AutoDrawable to be:

GLWindow glWindow = GLWindow.create(glCaps);

Instead of:

GLDrawableFactory factory = GLDrawableFactory.getFactory(glProfile);