OpenGL 3.x > ?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

OpenGL 3.x > ?

Claudio
Well, I see that JOGL is currently at version 2.

I found it a little bit comfusing to find the current distribution... but finally I found the autobuilds link.

Well, I am studying OpenGL deeply by using the OpenGL Superbible Fifth Edition, which is a rich material, but works over OpenGL 3 > and does not approaches the deprecated capabilities of OpenGL, what I find usefull, since what's deprecated tends not to be used in future.

For the important part of this message:
Well, in a short question: Does JOGL 2 supports OpenGL 3 > specs / releases?

Because in a short trial I was not able to fing something as GLBatch nor GLShaderManager.

I am a braziliam computer scientist with degree in computer science and a certified Java programmer (for Java 5), working at IT area for about seven years now, and I am hardly willing to change my area of work for games development. Well, since I worked with Java for the most part of my carreer I think it may be quite powerfull to mix the portability of Java with the power of OpenGL, but in order for seriously considering it I wonder it is important to keep at the state-of-the-art version of OpenGL.

Any comments appreciated, thanks.

Claudio
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: OpenGL 3.x > ?

gouessej
Administrator
Hi!

What's wrong? JOGL 2.0 beta already supports OpenGL 4.
Julien Gouesse | Personal blog | Website
Reply | Threaded
|

snmvaughan
In reply to this post by Claudio
The files/classes you are referencing were created by the author to simplify the early chapters of the book. I've been working with the existing JOGL classes to work through the book.
--------------------------
Sent from my BlackBerry Wireless Handheld

Sent: Monday, November 08, 2010 02:27 AM
To: Vaughan, Steve
Subject: OpenGL 3.x > ?

Well, I see that JOGL is currently at version 2.