Optimising a voxel engine

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Optimising a voxel engine

deardanielxd
Hi. I am new to OpenGL4. I am currently writing my own Voxel engine using lwjgl. My final goal is to make a small simulator to simulate a small ecosystem. I implemented the entity renderer and light inside my engine. At the beginning, I followed a youtube channel, called ThinMatrix. I changed the structure and some details of the engine to make it easier to implement my simulator. Currently, I added about 1K objects and each with about 3-4K vertices.  I implemented textured mapping and lighting effects. I added two point lights. One is static and one is controlled by the mouse. Overall, I think the whole program is quite simple, but the fps is just only 20-30. And here is my questions.

1. What can I do to improve my engine? Or, how do you optimise your engines?
2. What are the most common bottlenecks in OpenGL 4?
3. I have heard of buffer of batch data. According to my understandings, it is about combining several buffers into one single buffer to speed up the rendering. Am i correct? Currently, I separated the buffers into normals, vertices and texture buffers. Is that a bad practise? If I apply the "buffer of batch data" technique. How much will it improve?

Any advice will be very helpful. Thanks 
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Optimising a voxel engine

Xerxes Rånby
You should lower your vertex count.

As a rule of thumb,
entry level GPU can only process 1 vertex per clock cycle a high end GPU can process up to 5 vertex each clock cycle.
If you want to rendering 1k objects * 4k vertives * 60 fps then you will hit the above limit.

You requiring at least a 2.4ghz entry level GPU for full frame-rate while most entry level GPU's are clocked at 800Mhz.
Some high end GPU's may handle your workload, still your vertex count is high!