Extending Functionality of Shader Programs

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
21 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Extending Functionality of Shader Programs

ElvJOGL
Hi everyone, specially to @Elect who responded to my first jogamp forum post.

I am a college student. A professor at my school has asked me to help her on her research. Her work entails investigating the area of the boundary of polygon geometry when subject to subtraction. For instance taking the subtracting the geometrical region of a polygon by the same shape polygon only toned down in scale. Like subtracting a small triangle out of a larger triangle. The professor's interests is to investigate the relation between the region the is left inside the larger polygon, because that translates into a variable which might link to Ehrhart's Polynomial coefficients. I am not saying in fact that Ehrhart's Polynomial coefficients are involved, but they might, only if I knew the entire work of what my professor is working.

However, my role into this as a program is to write a program that can visually represent all these geometrical shapes to make it possible to do count the number of pixels that are in the polygonal region.

Anyways, the problem that I ran into in java is that Heap memory is too small, even in 64Bit java version. The problem here is that storing that many pixels into an array is somehow IMPOSSIBLE, because the number of pixels that one derives out of the H Fold Sum Set Algorithm that I am working on outputs a number of an integer number like 49 digits long. You for a fact that the number is huge, it will take virtual about 32GygaBytes or more to store that many vectors in a file. I have tried it, but because the look is so slow as the number of vectors (vertices) approach 1 billion pixels, it just to overwhelming.