classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
29 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Mac OS Java Update ( 1.6.0_20) breaks JOGL applets

Wade Walker
Administrator
OK, I'll try my luck wrapping my JNLP into an applet. I've never done an applet before, so it might take me a bit of experimentation... thankfully I have a four-day weekend starting tomorrow
Reply | Threaded
|

Wade Walker
Administrator
In reply to this post by blainebell
I got a simple JOGL applet to work on Mac OS X 10.6.7, Java 1.6.0_24 using the JNLPAppletLoader. I zipped up my HTML and JNLP files at jws-mac.zip. Just download the file and follow the instructions in the README.txt, and it should work for you.

This is a super-simple program that just draws one triangle, but it should work as a proof of concept

I didn't do anything strange -- I left the Java preferences at the default, to run applets within the browser process. I ran the whole thing without a web server to take that variable out of the equation as well. That means you'll have to edit the paths inside the HTML and JNLP files to match where you unzip the directory on your machine.

This zip archive contains a debug version of the JNLPAppletLoader that I compiled, so if you use it you'll see more debug info in the Java console that may be helpful to you.

In the course of doing this, I noticed that it doesn't work in Firefox or Chrome, and neither does the JOGL applet test page at http://jogamp.org/jogl-demos/www/applettest-jnlp.html. Here's the breakdown:

Safari 5.0.4: works with JNLPAppletLoader
Firefox 4.0: loads the applet, but drawing area is blank white (using JNLP2ClassLoader)
Chrome 10.0.648.205: loads the applet, but drawing area is blank white (using JNLP2ClassLoader)

I've filed a bug report for these last two at https://jogamp.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=497 so you can CC yourself to follow progress.
Reply | Threaded
|

blainebell