Properly Exporting JOGL

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Properly Exporting JOGL

TownEater
Hi, I'm still rather new to using jogl and openGL in general, but I've gotten it to work and run a basic game demo inside eclipse. I can also get the game to export and run, but in order to do that, I have to put a folder named "lib" next to the runnable jar file, then create a .bat file to run the jar like this:

java -Djava.library.path=lib -jar MinimalEngineDemo.jar

I'm almost certain this is not the proper way to do this, and I'd like to be able to just contain everything(refferenced .jar files like gluegen-rt.jar, and .dll files like gluegen-rt.dll) in the runnable jar file. How exactly would I have to go about this? I've scoured forums and tutorials and documentation but they all say different things and none of them seem to work.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Properly Exporting JOGL

Xerxes Rånby
When you use java -jar to launch your application you should add the jogamp jar
names to the Class-Path: entry of the
META-INF/MANIFEST.MF file, that is found inside your MinimalEngineDemo.jar

example: you want your
MinimalEngineDemo.jar META-INF/MANIFEST.MF
to at least contain
Class-Path: gluegen-rt.jar jogl-all.jar

META-INF/MANIFEST.MF Class-Path: configuration for -jar use is explained in:
http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/deployment/jar/manifestindex.html
http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/deployment/jar/downman.html

Your application folder will then look like:
MinimalEngineDemo.jar
gluegen-rt.jar
jogl-all.jar
gluegen-rt-natives-linux-amd64.jar
jogl-all-natives-linux-amd64.jar
... add one copy of natives for all platforms you want to support.

You can then start your application using the most simple command line:
java -jar MinimalEngineDemo.jar

JogAmp is designed to locate the native library jars that contain the .dll
and .so files next